Google Inishowen News & Business Directory
Drop Down Menu
  Business Directory Ad  


Sports scholarships awarded at LYIT 09.10.19

LETTERKENNY Institute of Technology (LYIT) made New Entrant Sports Scholarship award presentations to 16 students on Monday, 7th October.
Those awarded the scholarship, which is worth 1,000 to each successful applicant, were selected from the current academic group of new entrant students, in recognition of their performance and achievement in either GAA at Intercounty level or Soccer at League of Ireland level.
LYIT New Entrant Sports Scholarships Awards 2019
The winning New Entrant Sports Scholarship students for this year are:
- Grainne O Neill, Swinford, Co Mayo, a Mayo U20 player
- Julie Trearty, Carrigart, a Donegal senior player
- Aaron Gillooley, Ballybofey, a Donegal U20 player
- Liam Jackson, Ardee, Co Louth, a Louth minor player
- Mark McAteer, Letterkenny, a Donegal minor player
- Conor O Donnell, Carndonagh, a Donegal U20 player
- Joseph Greene, Annagry, a Donegal minor Hurling panelist
- Thomas Hartnett, Dungloe, a Donegal minor Hurling panelist
- Gabriel Aduaka, Letterkenny, Finn Harps U19 player
- Joel Bradley Walsh, Ballybofey, Finn Harps U19 player
- Conor Doherty, Ballybofey, Derry City U19 player
- Kieran Farren, Carndonagh, Finn Harps U19 player
- Jordan Gallagher, Manorcunningham, Finn Harps U19 player
- Corey McBride, Clonmany, Finn Harps U19 player
- Fionn McClure, Carndonagh, Derry City U19 player
- Lee McLaughlin, Carndonagh, Finn Harps U19 player

In presenting the awards, Billy Bennett, VP for Academic Affairs and Registrar of LYIT, congratulated the recipients and complimented the GAA and Soccer club members in LYIT on having maintained and enhanced the sporting standards over the years. Billy commented that the development and commitment each year, provides the basis for the expanding sports programme. He also urged these students to be aware of their academic commitments and to establish a balance between their sports and studies in the year ahead.
Add to Favorites :: Return to > Top Stories    > News    > Home