Google Inishowen News & Business Directory
Drop Down Menu
  Business Directory Ad  


Hurlers take positives from Banagher 18.03.14

Ulster ‘A’ Minor Hurling League
Derry v Donegal
Banagher, Saturday, March 15

Result: Derry 3-13: Donegal 1-12

DONEGAL minors and their management team can take many positives from the performance in Banagher on Saturday. After an unsettled first quarter when they went a goal and a point behind Tom Clare’s boys dominated the rest of the first half, scoring 8 unanswered points. Three points each from Tom Clare Junior and Óisín Rooney as well as points from Eddie Lynch and Conor Griffin left the visitors ahead 9 points to 1-02 at half time. The home team were the happier to hear the 30th minute whistle as Donegal had got into an excellent rhythm as the half proceeded.
The only real disappointment came in the third quarter when, after points from Tom Clare and Conor Griffen had extended the visitors’ lead, Derry hit a purple patch and Donegal lost focus. The home team scored 6 quality points and two well-taken goals before the Inis Eoghain and Tír Chonaill boys rallied in the final fiveteen with a point from Sam Doherty and a goal from Cathal Doherty.
The strong Banagher breeze acted as a sixteenth player.
Manager Tom Clare felt the game was there for the taking. He added that the spirit of digging deep promises well for days ahead, especially for the game he is most focussed on, the All-Ireland championship opener against Roscommon in August.
When the minors first entered Ulster ‘A’ two years ago five points was the highest score a Donegal team could muster. Things are progressing. All but six of this squad are eligible next year.

Donegal: David Ireland, St. Eunan’s; Ciarán Ramey, Aodh Rua; Steven Doherty, St. Eunans; Shaun Curran, Mac Cumhaills; Kyle McGrath, Burt; Eugene Drummond, Aodh Rua; Eddie Lynch (0-2), Aodh Rua; Justin McBride, Setanta; Óisín Rooney (0-3), Aodh Rua; Sam Doherty (0-1), Buncrana; Conor O’Grady, St. Eunans; Tom Clare (0-4), Buncrana; Paul Nelson, Buncrana; Conor Griffen (0-2), Mac Cumhaills; Brendan Gill, Aodh Rua; James Doherty, Buncrana; Declan McCarron, Buncrana; Cathal Doherty 1-0), Carndonagh; Matthew Porter, Carndonagh; Donal Sweeney, Aodh Rua; Óisín Roper, Aodh Rua; David Doherty, Buncrana; Macauley Carr, Buncrana.
Add to Favorites :: Return to > Sports    > News    > Home